Florida is a Hotbed for Tourism. Does that Increase Crime Rates?

Florida is a Hotbed for Tourism. Does that Increase Crime Rates?

May 14

Florida is certainly enjoying a significant increase in the number of tourists that flow in all year-round. Florida, together with California and Hawaii, is the preferred vacation spot of choice for local and international tourists. Because people come to sunny Florida to party, it is perhaps inevitable that there will be a concomitant rise in crime.

The state has experienced an ever-increasing tourist trade for the fourth year running. An estimated 97 million people visited Florida in 2014, a whopping 9.3% rise from 2013. In particular, Lee County experienced the highest increase in the influx of visitors, recording 12% more tourists in 2014 than the year before. Okaloosa County, where you will find the famous Fort Walton Beach, is also a favored haunt for Spring Break. This is good for the state’s economy, as tourists spend billions to enjoy the weather. With that many people spending that much money in the state, something has to give.

At the very least, many out-of-state visitors are experiencing the consequences of imbibing too freely and then going for a joy ride. Being from out-of-state does not offer any protection from arrest for drunk driving, as a Fort Walton Beach criminal defense lawyer will point out.

This can be a big problem, especially for young people intent on enjoying their spring break in the tradition of all spring breakers. They are far away from home and family, and all that is familiar. People arrested outside their own state may not be familiar with Florida’s laws.

If you are an out-of-state visitor facing drunk driving charges, there is no need to panic. It is not the end of the world if you keep your head. The best thing you can do is to contact a Florida criminal defense lawyer with experience in handling cases for out-of-state visitors. They will know how to help you out.

What Does Car Insurance Cover in Chicago?

What Does Car Insurance Cover in Chicago?

May 13

All states (except for New Hampshire) require drivers to have the minimum car insurance coverage as established by state law. This will vary, but in Illinois you need liability coverage ($20,000 for injury or death of one person; $40,000 for injury or death of two or more persons in an accident), and property damage ($15,000). The minimum required is not usually enough. Higher coverage is always recommended as these amounts will not be enough anything other than minor injuries and property damage.

Habush Habush & Rottier S.C.® stresses the importance of understanding that liability coverage is only for personal injury. It does not cover property damage. In addition, personal car insurance for liability coverage follows the insured under limited circumstances. There is no standard for this. For example, if you have liability insurance and you are driving your own car, then you will be covered. However, if you are not driving your own car and you get into an accident, your claim may be denied as excluded from coverage. Be sure to understand the terms and conditions set down in your policy.

On the other hand, collision and comprehensive insurance “follows” the car. This type of car insurance covers damage and theft of the insured vehicle even if during the relevant instance the driver was not the registered owner of the vehicle. However, some policies may still have stipulations about the persons authorized to operate the vehicle. In most cases, family members are automatically authorized. The insurer will rarely cover claims in which the driver was operating the vehicle without the permission of the registered owner.

Car insurance can be complicated. It is important to take the time to ask your insurance agent to clarify what is and what is not covered under your policy. It can save you a lot of money and stress in the long run.

The Link between Cerebral Palsy and Difficult Labor

The Link between Cerebral Palsy and Difficult Labor

May 11

One of the things that most parents want is that their child is born whole and healthy, although most take it for granted. Unfortunately, in some cases something happens at the last minute that can turn a perfectly healthy child into a victim of birth injury.

There is no question that childbirth is traumatic for both the mother and the child, especially if it is a difficult or complicated one. An infant is very delicate, so it requires a skilled doctor to pull it off without harming either the mother or the child.

In cases where labor is difficult, the doctor can use a variety of techniques to help the child get out. This includes the use of vacuums and forceps. A Caesarean section would be easier for the doctor, but it is usually the method of last resort because it does pose a higher risk to the mother. However, the timing in such situations is crucial. Every minute that the child is in distress increases the chances of some type of injury such as cerebral palsy. The doctor has to make a decision quickly.

The cause of cerebral palsy is unknown. It could be the result of inadequate prenatal care. However, there are some documented cases indicating some type of head trauma or hemorrhage during delivery. These usually involve the incorrect use of forceps or vacuum, or the unreasonable delay in performing a Caesarean section.

Many circumstances can affect the outcome of difficult labor, the physician should consider these as a matter of course. Failing to make the right decision at the right time makes the attending physician liable for any resulting injuries.

If your child has cerebral palsy because of a preventable birth injury, you may be facing significant costs for the treatment and maintenance of your child. If your physician is responsible for the injury, you may have no other recourse but to ask for financial assistance. Consult with a cerebral palsy lawyer in your state for more information.

Consequences of a Drunk Driving Arrest on your Professional License

Consequences of a Drunk Driving Arrest on your Professional License

May 06

Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime anywhere in the US, especially in Texas. Even in Massachusetts, where DUI laws are not as stiff, a first offense is still a crime and while there is no mandatory jail time, you can face house arrest for as long as 2.5 years. In most states, the first DUI or DWI conviction means suspension of the driver’s license and hefty fines. Sanctions that are more serious await repeat offenders.

However, the real cost of a DUI or DWI conviction for professionals is the loss of their license. All states expect a certain moral standard from their licensees, and this is not just for medical professionals, legal professionals, accountants, engineers, or educators. This includes trade licensees, such as plumbers, electricians, and barbers.

Those applying for a license with a DUI on their records are often denied. Licensees arrested for a crime such as drunk driving may face disciplinary action and intense scrutiny from the state licensing board. A conviction means a suspended or revoked license. The loss of a professional license very often means the loss of occupation and income. According to the Leichter Law Firm PC website, defending against the loss of your license should be your top priority.

It is bad enough to be arrested for a DUI, but it is infinitely worse to be convicted. However, an arrest does not necessarily mean a conviction. As pointed out on the website of criminal defense lawyer James Powderly, failing a field sobriety test is not solid evidence of a DUI.

The law is complicated, and as a professional license holder, do not make the mistake of trying to handle your case on your own. You could be putting your livelihood on the line. Immediately retain the services of the most experienced criminal defense lawyer in your area. You will have a good chance of saving your career.

Garbage Trucks can be Dangerous

Garbage Trucks can be Dangerous

May 02

It may seem strange to discuss garbage truck accidents in particular when discussing negligent vehicle accidents in general. However, just like its interstate cousins the big rigs, garbage trucks pose a significant danger to other drivers and people in its vicinity because of its size and weight.

The fact is, garbage trucks are more dangerous than big rigs. This is because big rigs are mostly on large roads and highways while garbage trucks are mostly in inner city roadways. They regularly traverse residential areas and commercials where garbage truck accidents are more likely to occur. Garbage disposal is an important civic function. However, this does not excuse negligent or reckless conduct of garbage truck drivers and operators.

Just recently, a garbage truck in Albany killed a four-year-old child as he was crossing the road to the school. The child was walking hand-in-hand with his mother, and had the signal to cross. The garbage truck was making a left at that intersection. Investigations are ongoing, but it is likely that the driver of the truck failed to see the child as he was making the turn.

Another garbage truck hit an attenuator truck on a bridge, which sent the truck sailing into the water, and killed the driver. The attenuator truck is supposed to keep the construction workers safe from traffic, but it was not match for the garbage truck, which was too big and going too fast. According to the garbage truck driver, an aerosol can under the brake pedal prevented him from engaging the brakes on time. The website of an Iowa personal injury lawyer at the LaMarca Law Group points out that far from serving as an excuse, it highlights how simple cleanliness could have prevented the tragedy.

Such instances of negligence have tragic consequences, and someone should be held accountable. If you suffered serious injury or loss due to a negligent garbage truck or other vehicle accident, you should consult with a garbage truck accident lawyer in your state to find out who is liable for the damages.